Industrial …

Posted: February 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

Industrial ...

Take one rainy day, an interesting structure (local stadium, in this case), and an Olympus E-P1, with the M.Zuiko 14-42mm lens.

I’ve been taken with some of the results I’ve seen from the new ‘Dramatic’ Art Filter in the new E-PL2, and thought I’d aim for a similar treatment in my post-processing software of choice – Nikon Capture NX. The same effect – which I’ve intentionally kept on the more subtle side in this image  – would be achievable in pretty well any photo pp software, with a hike in contrast, reduced saturation …and some of the shadow detail brought out.

As I always find, the E-P1’s jpeg output is easily good enough to work on in this way … I didn’t bother altering the RAW file on this occasion.

I’m looking forward to an occasional sunny day (!) that coincides with a free weekend, where some modelling would help lift things visually… although realistically, the image here was the kind of look I was going for anyway, and wouldn’t necessarily have been improved upon with a very much more expensive camera & glass.

Leave a Reply

